© 2020 Platinum Primary Producer Group




In 2005, Shane McManaway of Allflex Australasia, pulled together a handful of like-minded farmers to spin some yarns and solve a few industry problems. Today, this once-small group has evolved into a powerful collective of over 150 of Australia and New Zealand’s top rural leaders. The combined horsepower of the Group - its knowledge, experience, drive and resources - means it is well-placed to tackle the toughest of industry problems and come up with smart initiatives that will help agri-business in both countries. 


What we do

The Group's key objective is to provide a forum for leading producers and professionals, from across the farming landscape, to discuss and debate pertinent issues affecting the agricultural industry. With a truly Trans-Tasman outlook, the Group provides an international platform for members to network, share their thoughts and ideas and impart their experience to others. Given its wealth of knowledge, the Group is also a 'come-to' organisation for anyone in (or aligned to), agriculture who might need a helping hand.


Our commitment

The PPP Group is committed to giving back and supporting our communities wherever we can. Each year, we fundraise for charities and worthy causes. 

In 2011, the Group auctioned an All Blacks’ rugby jersey and raised over $45,000 to help victims of the destructive Christchurch earthquakes. In 2012 the group supported The Farming Show's Jamie Mackay by raising $27,000 to cycle 240km in aid of the air rescue services in New Zealand and Australia. In 2013, raised $42,000 for New Zealand's The CatWalk Trust and Australia's the Spinal Cord Injury Network. The group has also raised funds for small regional schools including $41,500 for Pirinoa School in the Wairarapa.


In 2014, the Zanda McDonald Award was launched. Created in honour of one of Australia's beef industry greats, this award aims to recognise the future leaders in our industry and help them progress their careers.

PPP Conference

Each year the group convenes to network, discuss current industry issues and also announce the winner of the Zanda McDonald Award.


About the award

Zanda McDonald was a prominent identity in the Australian beef and livestock industry and a foundation member of the Platinum Primary Producer (PPP) Group. He died in April 2013 at the age of 41, following a tragic accident on his Queensland cattle property.


Zanda was proud to be a farmer and worked tirelessly to encourage young people to work in the industry that he loved.  As part of his role in the PPP Group he led a number of initiatives to promote his industry to the next generation. 


In his honour the PPP group launched the Zanda McDonald Award. This award aims to recognise young people working in the primary industry sectors in New Zealand and Australia, and support their future career development.


The inaugural Zanda McDonald Award was held in 2015 and won by Emma Black from Queensland. Dean Rabbidge from Southland took out the award in 2016. Morgan Easton, hailing from Canterbury NZ, was the 2017 recipient, and Thomas Macdonald from Taupo NZ, was the 2018 recipient. In May 2019, at the annual PPP conference in Port Douglas Australia, the 2019 award was presented to two equally worthy winners, Luke Evans from the Northern Territory and Shannon Landmark from Queensland.


Applications for the the 2020 award have now closed and the winner of the award will be announced online on Wednesday March 25 at 7 pm NZT.

The prize for winning the Zanda McDonald Award includes an impressive professional development package, a tailored industry trip across the Tasman, $2,000 cash, and mentoring sessions with selected PPP group members across Australia and New Zealand. Exposure to the skills and experience from some of Australasia's highest-profile farmers and agri-business managers is highly sought-after and widely seen as a career and life-changing experience. The winner will also become a member of the PPP Group . 

Register your interest in the 2021 Award. Applications for the 2021 Award are open to individuals 35 years or younger (as at 31 August 2020), who live and work in the agribusiness sector in either Australia or NZ. Register now and we'll be in touch June/July 2020 to let you know when and how to apply. Follow us on Facebook or Instagram to keep up-to-date with award announcements.